Comprehensive Support and Improvement

  • The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires state educational agencies to determine school eligibility for comprehensive support and improvement (CSI). Local educational agencies (LEAs) with schools that meet the criteria for CSI must partner with stakeholders to locally develop and implement a plan to improve student outcomes.

    The county office of education (COE) also plays a role in providing technical assistance and support to LEAs within its county that serve schools that meet the criteria for CSI.

    School EligibilityCriteria

    California will use the California School Dashboard (Dashboard) to determine school eligibility for CSI. School eligibility is based on the following two categories of schools:

    1. High schools with a graduation rate less than 67 percent averaged over two years
      1. All high schools, including Title I, non-Title I, traditional, and Dashboard Alternative School Status are eligible.

    2. Not less than the lowest-performing five percent of Title I schools
      1. Schools with all red indicators
      2. Schools with all red but one indicator of another color
      3. Schools with five or more indicators where the majority are red
      4. Schools with all red and orange indicators