Return to Headlines

Awards - Teacher of the Year

Each year, the California Department of Education selects "Teachers of the Year" (TOY) to identify and honor exemplary teachers.  The county offices of education conduct a regional selection and recognition process for district finalists.  The state selection committee reviews applications and arranges for site visits for selected applicants.  The selected applicants are interviewed by a state selection committee that includes the State Superintendent of Public Instruction or his designee.  The State Superintendent of Public Instruction makes the final selection and personally notifies the California Teacher of the Year.

Marin County has developed a procedure where districts alternate submission of TOY nominations based on district ADA.  Districts eligible to nominate for 2016 include:

  • Kentfield School District
  • Lagunitas School District
  • Larkspur-Corte Madera School District
  • Mill Valley School District
  • Nicasio School District
  • Novato Unified School District
  • Ross School District
  • San Rafael Elementary School District
  • San Rafael High School District
  • Shoreline Unified School District
  • Tamalpais Union High School District

The deadline to submit nominations is April 10, 2015.

A request for readers will be solicited at a future Superintendent's Day meeting.  Readers are typically superintendents but may include administrative staff from districts.  County office staff will provide the reader committee with pertinent information regarding direction for application review as well as the timeline of review.

Click here for the 2016 Teacher of the Year website